R.I.P. Blue Oyster Cult’s Allen Lanier

I read today that Blue Oyster Cult keyboardist/guitarist Allen Lanier passed away. Growing up in Cleveland in the ’70s, you heard a lot of Blue Oyster Cult on FM radio – which was a good thing. While I wasn’t as big a BOC fan as my younger brother Dan was, I certainly like them more than their heavy metal colleagues, be they Black Sabbath or Kiss. BOC had both brawn and brains, which seems to be a rare combination in a hard rock band.

blue-oyster-cult-8a0dc7880c4ba027_large

While most rock fans know Blue Oyster Cult from their greatest hit, “Don’t Fear The Reaper,” they created a number of other gems like “Joan Crawford,” “Burnin’ For You” and my personal fave “Cities On Flame With Rock And Roll.”

About Michael Berick

I am a longtime writer, and lover, of music and pop culture. I have written for Entertainment Weekly, the Los Angeles Times, the LA Weekly, the San Francisco Chronicle, Cleveland Scene and more places (that I wouldn't take up more of your time mentioning now).
This entry was posted in Music,, RIP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

